Wisconsin Tax Relief for Flood Victims
For Release: September 7, 2007
Contact: Meredith Helgerson, Communications Officer, (608) 261-2271
MADISON – Fourteen Wisconsin counties were officially declared an "IRS Designated Disaster Area" since storms late last month. The affected counties are Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Grant, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Kenosha, La Crosse, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk and Vernon. Affected taxpayers in these counties will qualify for federal tax relief. If the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) or the President declares additional counties eligible for assistance, the relief provisions described below will also apply to affected taxpayers in those counties.
"Affected taxpayers" include taxpayers whose principal residence or principal place of business is located in the IRS Designated Disaster Area, taxpayers whose books or tax records or whose tax professionals' offices are located in the IRS Designated Disaster Area, and relief workers affiliated with a recognized government or philanthropic organization assisting with the relief activities in the IRS Designated Disaster Area.
For income tax returns of taxpayers other than corporations, affected taxpayers have until November 15, 2007, to file their return for the tax year 2006 for both federal and Wisconsin purposes. When filing the Wisconsin income tax return with the extension to November 15, 2007, taxpayers should enter the number "03" in the Special Conditions box on the front of the return and write "Wisconsin flooding" on the line provided.
For federal income tax returns of corporations, affected taxpayers that have an extended return due date or original return due date that falls on or after August 18, 2007, and before November 15, 2007, are granted an extension of time to file. These corporations are allowed an additional 30 days beyond November 15, 2007, to file their corresponding Wisconsin income or franchise tax returns. Corporations using the federal extension due to flooding should write "Wisconsin flooding" in the area above the heading on page one of their tax form.
It is important to note that although the taxpayer is allowed additional time to file the Wisconsin return, interest at the rate of 1% per month from the original un-extended due date will apply to any tax due with the return. By law, Wisconsin must charge interest from the original due date of the return [s. 71.82, Wis. Stats].
For sales and use returns, reports, and payments for reporting periods with a due date that falls on or after August 18, 2007, and before November 15, 2007, an affected taxpayer may request a 30-day extension of time to file sales and use tax returns or reports. Requests for an extension should be sent to:
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
PO Box 8949
Madison , WI 53708-8949
Any tax not paid by the un-extended due date of the return or report will be subject to interest at the rate of 1% per month until paid (within the 30-day extension period). Taxes not paid by the extended due date will be subject to interest at the rate of 1.5% per month from the extended due date until paid.
Page last updated September 7, 2007